John Irons's Blog

Icon

Economic News, Data and Analysis

Bye Bernie

Bernie Saffran was one of the best econ teachers our there, and a genuinely nice guy. Like many other econ majors, I took his famous theory seminar at swarthmore. Most of what I learned in economic was built on a solid base of core theory which came from that course. He will indeed be missed.

From: Ben Keys
Sent: Wednesday, December 01, 2004 1:22 PM
To: swarthmore2001
Subject: [Class01] Passing of Bernie Saffran
Friends,
I am so sorry to have to pass along more sad news. Economics professor Bernie Saffran died of a heart attack on Monday. Bernie was an ever-present part of the Swarthmore campus since long before we were born, and had a wide influence on Swarthmore and the field of economics as a prominent figure in the department, an accomplished author, and a dedicated advisor. He will be deeply missed. I will pass along any information I get on services for Bernie as soon as it becomes available. I hope I can be the bearer of good news one of these days…
My best wishes to you all,
Ben

Filed under: Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

Pages

Archives

